Our 2015 Audubon Heroes

The President’s Hoot
by Richard H. Baker, Ph.D.
April 2015

Many folks have contributed to the success of our chapter, hundreds of volunteers participated in our rallies, developed courses, birding field trips, wrote grants for funding, continued our ongoing projects, and helped finish the Audubon House.  At our annual meeting on March 16, 2015 we recognized the outstanding community contributions individuals have made not only to our chapter but to our community.  These awards highlight our activities and inspire us all to work together to improve our quality of life and make Indian River County a sustainable, environmentally, and happy place to live.

Phyllis Stockburger Award to Elsbeth Eibs, longtime PIAS member, contributor, support at special events.

Board Member of the Year to Bill Halliday, for generous time and effort he put into helping build the Audubon House and his always encouraging and cheerful enthusiasm for PIAS

Maggy Bowman/Conservationist of the Year to Julianne Price, Tony Brown, & Dr. Graham Cox for persistence & helping the quality of life indicators concept progress in the Gifford community and removing 10 acres of junk and old tires next to the Gifford Youth Activity Center. 

Environmental Educator Award to Dr. Juanita N. Baker for developing and teaching our birding course, bird essay for photo of the month, constructing life-size wooden birds for a bird ring toss at festivals, and teaching kids how to draw birds.

Environmental Citizen to Steve Goff– for years of weekly removing exotic plants from Audubon House and Oslo Riverfront Conservation Area and making a new nature trail for the new Audubon House.

Environmental Landscaping to Mark Borak & Robin Pelensky at redoing the landscaping at Oak Park Terrace incorporating native plants that require less water, fertilizers, and pesticides.

President’s Award to Corry Westbrook and Buffy Turner for their tremendous effort in organizing multiple efforts and to stop or delay on the County’s dredge and fill Oslo Boat Ramp expansion project.

Eleanor & Bud Kleckner Award to Janice Broda and Bob Bruce PIAS member, who generously gave both their time and money to support the construction of Audubon House.

Special Recognition  to Lorraine Sutherland for her organizing our refreshments at meetings and banquets and to Susan Boyd, Bill Loftus, David Cox, & Bonnie Swanson all on the grants committee for their efforts, initiatives, & grant writing.

Leave a Reply

This site uses Akismet to reduce spam. Learn how your comment data is processed.

A WordPress.com Website.